Robert Crooms Jr.

Abbeville Police have arrested a man wanted in connection to the death of a Texas man.

Delcambre Mayor Pam Blakely

DELCAMBRE - The Delcambre aldermen rehired everyone in city hall and put them on a 90-day probational period to make sure they can do their job correctly. But the aldermen could not decide on who will be the town’s street commissioner.
DELCAMBRE — Finally after 10-plus years of talking about it, water meters are going to happen in 2017. The new Delcambre administration approved funding to supply water meters for commercial businesses and residents at Monday night’s meeting.

Stork brings Kaplan couple huge surprise

Little Brooks Major Hebert was born exactly 30 days after his mother found out she was pregnant.

Most couples usually have up to 40 weeks to prepare for a new addition to their family.

Abbeville wins Clean City contest

Seated LGCF District III Director- Ruth Delhomme, Georgie Petitjean, Cleanest City District Judge, Mayor Mark Piazza, Kathy Tell, Jennifer Granger, Cleanest City Contest District Judges.Standing: Gwen Lanoux, Abbeville Garden Club, Francis Touchet, Francis Plaisance, Brady Broussard,Jr., Councilmen Sandra Creswell,Liz Gremillion, Patsy Hebert, members of the Abbeville Garden Club.

After taking a year off from competition, the City of Abbeville made a return to the Cleanest City Contest in a big way, by winning the district title.

State Fire Marshal investigating possible arson in Abbeville

The home is located on Graceland Avenue, near the corner of St. Peter Avenue in Abbeville. Investigators are working the fire as an arson case, according to State Fire Marshal Butch Browning.

Members of the Abbeville Fire Department responded to a fire on Graceland Avenue early Wednesday morning.

More than 600 attend Vermilion Job Fair

More than 600 job seekers attended the four-hour job fair.

People looking for jobs took a positive step Wednesday in making that a reality.

Fire near Kaplan claims man’s life

First responders discovered Broussard in the car port area after putting out the fire.

Officials are continuing an investigation into a residential fire near Kaplan that claimed a man’s life.

Abbeville Arrest Report: March 13-21

Jeanne Allen
DOB: 10/14/1986
Charge: Possession of CDS With Juvenile Present
Charge: Possession of Cocaine
Charge: Possession of Schedule II Drugs



Abbeville’s Tayla Willis (right) gets a clean block of a shot by Gueydan’s Ke’Ara Charles (13).

The Gueydan HoneyBears dodged a bullet in their opening game of the Coca-Cola VC Yuletide Tournament on Tuesday.


Kiyzer Israel Marceaux
A son, Kiyzer Israel Marceaux, was born, Thursday, December 22, 2016, at Abbeville General to Kymberly Paige Marceaux of Kaplan.

The Vermilion Today

Abbeville Meridional

318 N. Main St.
Abbeville, LA 70510
Phone: 337-893-4223
Fax: 337-898-9022

The Kaplan Herald

219 North Cushing Avenue
Kaplan, LA 70548

The Gueydan Journal

311 Main Street
Gueydan, LA 70542

Follow Us